*Review* Dead Light District (Sasha Jackson #2) – Jill Edmondson

8085170

Synopsis:

As open-minded as she is, private investigator Sasha Jackson feels out of place when her latest case plunges her into the world of commercial sex. A classy madam has hired Sasha to find a missing Mexican hooker, which seems easy enough at first. However, everything becomes complicated when a nasty pimp turns up dead in the wrong hotel.Things get even worse when a spaced-out call girl, an arthritic old lady, and a Rastafarian pawnbroker enter the scene. Sasha figures out why the hooker ran away but not where to. Besides,how fast can anyone run in stiletto heels? When the next body turns up, Sasha has her moral compass tested as she tries to understand the sex trade and how those enmeshed in it will do anything to survive– even if it means murder.

My Review: 4 out of 5 Stars ****

Oakies, I’m really not one for mysteries, but this caught my eye last Summer. Yes I am still going through all the books I downloaded for the travels I was doing last year. I picked this because, although I’m not a huge fan of the cover the blurb grabbed me. It also came across as being a little on the Chick Lit side too.

I didn’t realize that this was in fact book two of a series, I am happy to report you can read it as a stand alone. I am also pleased to report that I really, really enjoyed it. Although it could’ve been a 5 star rating, but there was just a little bit on long winded writing that didn’t need to be in the story, that after a while started to irk me.

Having said that I really, really liked Sasha, she was a hoot. Smart, sassy and a little self effacing. She had it all going on, sometime singer in a band, totally broke, slightly happless P.I. She was a real woman, she liked a drink, and when she ate she did what I believe 99% of all women do, worry it was going to go to her hips.

When hooker Carmen goes missing, along with the lack of funds in her bank account she takes on Candace, a bordello owner’s request to try and find out what happened to her. All doesn’t go quite how Sasha wants it to go, and she has to quickly get over her slightly closed mind to the world of prostitution.

The story flows nicely, not sure if we needed the hooker’s POV, it did seem to give the game away slightly. But when a pimp turns up dead, graffiti sprayed on her house and a near hit and run the notches of the story went into a higher gear. There were plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader interested and I really thought Sasha was going to let the hooker get away with murder.

That is until the body count started to climb. The bordello owner had her own secrets, which gave dimension to her character, as well as a nice little sub plot. Did it make me laugh as much as your traditional Chick Lit books? No, but I had some belly laughs, especially the part she is chasing the hooker down after being held at knife point. That had tears streaming down my face.

The book wrapped up nicely, and while I would’ve liked a little more romance. Derek seemed divine, Sasha was a ballsy enough girl that it probably wouldn’t have fit in with the story. All in all I am glad that I downloaded it.

Leave a Reply

