*Review* Looking for You (A Laurel Heights Novel) – Kate Perry

15982350

Synopsis:

Gwendolyn Pierce has a secret. A big secret.

No one knows that the gourd artist is really the missing Grape Princess—the wine heiress who ran away fourteen years before. And that’s the way Gwen likes it. No paparazzi recording her every mistake, no stern family disapproving of her life. She has her gourd shop in Laurel Heights and lives in peaceful bliss.

Until she meets Rick Clancy.

The last person she should get involved with is a private investigator who finds her as suspicious as he does sexy. Only she can’t help herself, and she can’t help wondering if she can trust him with her secrets—and her heart

My Review: 3.5 Stars out of 5 ***

Oakies, I’m slowly but surely working my way through the Chick Lit books I downloaded last Summer. Most all of them have been happy reads with warm, funny stories. This book doesn’t quite fit into what I call Chick Lit but I got it because I knew it would have romance in it, and who doesn’t want some romance while they are on vacation? (That’s what I got it for)

Though I didn’t read it while on vacation, instead it was read over two of the coldest days in South Texas it did warm my heart.

The story was a little implausible, a missing wine heiress living in disguise in San Francisco, only to hook up and casually date a private eye. Who just happened to want to know her secrets, but agreed not to dig for them while they were in the throws of having hot, passionate sex.

Then there was the journalist, Camille. So desperate to please her mother she for goes her dreams of being a writer and her chances of snagging her crush Dylan, she gets the unenviable task of covering the story of Gwen (the runaway heiress) who is now a gourd artist that has been chosen to show her pieces in the local museum. It is her that uncovers Gwen’s secret and outs her to the world.

What I loved the most about this book was its easy pace and style, there was nothing that didn’t draw you in no matter how much you thought the story wouldn’t play out the way it did. The characters were likable, and the men deadly sexy. Isn’t that what you want in a romance novel?

I do. I, at times wished the story had a little more depth or dimension, but overall when I reached the end I was smiling. This is the perfect beach read, there is nothing better than sun, sea and hot, hot seduction.

Leave a Reply

