*Review* Soul of Flame (Imdalind # 4) – Rebecca Ethington

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000040_00014]

Synopsis:

The Time for the final battle has come.

Edmund’s armies have surrounded the Rioseco Abbey, trapping the few survivors inside. The sight that Ilyan was given a thousand years ago is about to come to pass.

If only Joclyn was able to fight.

Joclyn is tormented by the hallucinations that Cail’s mind has left her with, her magic an uncontrollable torrent that even Ilyan cannot control. Her moments of lucidity are broken by fears of dripping pipes and bleeding walls, and a desire to kill Ryland that she is having trouble trying to ignore.

The sight has shown her power, shown her success, but it has also shown her death – The end of her life something she is not quite willing to give up on yet.

Even past her death, the sight has shown her love, and that love may be the only key to her sanity, to her strength, and to Edmund’s death.

That love may stand in her way, and a single choice may tip the scales and secure their future, or destroy their fate.

My Review: 5.5 Stars out of 5 *****

photo

I don’t know where to start!! I’m lost for words, speechless. I can talk the hind legs off a donkey when talking about my favorite books, but this installment of Imdalind has left me beautifully mute. In short, this book is awesome.

I know before you tell me I’ve over rated this book, I think I’ve only done this a couple of times before but I will explain. When I first met the world of Joclyn and Ryland I thought Joclyn was, lets say a little on the whiny, needy side. A girl with more insecurities than Imelda Marcos had shoes.

Not, no more!!

This installment sees Joclyn facing her fears, her terror after being trapped in Cail’s mind. Ryland living in his messed up hell, Dramin clinging to life, Thom being all levels on moody, Wyn living her grief and Sain?? WTH Sain. Then there is the thread that keeps them all together….Ilyan, dreamy, delicious Ilyan.

Minka drooling

I don’t want to put out many spoilers, if any at all. Get the book, heck if you haven’t gotten any, wake up and buy them up quick.So Edmund is coming, his army is building and Joclyn can feel the anger of the mounting evil magic, she has the sights that tell her what is out there, and what she can do. After her terrifying ordeal at the hands of Edmund, Cail and Ryland you’d think she’d want to hide under a rock, but the wonderful surprise is, she doesn’t, anything but.

The story covers just a few days, a few days of watching Joclyn unfold from her torment to become what she was always born to be, the Silny. Ilyan, I was trying to leave him until last, I wanted to avoid drool all over my computer as I typed. He is, well he is perfect. It isn’t because he’s blonde, beautiful and dreamy. It’s because he has a heart, a soul and he can be as tormented as any of the other characters. But he loves Joclyn with a passion…

I thought my blood would ignite when he braided her hair, who knew such a simple task could have me all hot and bothered and wishing I had much longer hair. He had me feeling heartbroken when a misunderstanding with Joclyn had them ripped apart. He had me panting for more at his love and devotion to his people.

The story is beautifully written, rich in human emotion. The conflict, love and everything else they all felt was palpable. It didn’t feel like it had quite as much action as the others, yet on reflection it did (confusing I know) it was written in a way that nothing over powered anything else. Clever writing.

To sign off, Joclyn and Ilyan, swoon…. Rebecca Ethington you gave me an early birthday and Christmas gift writing this story as you did. Perfect. If you haven’t read any of her previous books in this series you’re missing out…

photo (25)

Leave a Reply

