*Review* Circle of Death (Damask Circle #2) – Keri Arthur

Circle of Death

Synopsis:

PASSION REBORN

In one vicious night, Kirby Brown’s world is torn apart. Her best friend is dead, killed by a madman who is now after Kirby, and she has no idea why. When the police prove incapable of protecting Kirby, she has no choice but to trust a mysterious stranger. And while she finds herself inexplicably drawn to him, she fears the strange abilities he wields.

An investigator for the Damask Circle, Doyle Fitzgerald, has come to Melbourne, Australia, to hunt down a killer. What he doesn’t expect to find is a cadre of witches capable of controlling the elements, a sorceress determined to take that power for herself, and a broken woman who is more than she seems. Doyle is certain that the reason behind the bloodshed lies in Kirby’s past—a past she has no wish to remember. Because Doyle isn’t the only one with magic in his soul: Kirby’s special gifts have the strength to destroy the world.

My Review: 4 out of 5 Stars **** Available 2/25/2014

Yowzer! I’m not sure where to start with this review, or how or where I came to 4 stars. But I will try.

Kirby Brown comes home from work, her best friend Helen and her boyfriend have been murdered, brutally murdered. Ripped apart like rag dolls. Kirby is then taken into police protective custody and then promptly set up by a monster. Upon her escape she encounters not one but two vile monsters that want her dead and a stranger by the name of Doyle. He mysteriously shows up and rescues her.

Now because Kirby has a hard time trusting anyone she is afraid of what Doyle might do to her, she any chance she gets she tries to flee his care.

What had me in a quandary over the rating and my thoughts on the book is I read this right after I had read the first book, Circle of Fire. I really liked that book though there were some minor niggles over repetition and so forth. There was some of this in this book, Kirby herself was a little annoying in her inability to believe or trust anyone.

That had me irked slightly, I also wasn’t a huge fan of the insta love but I LOVED Doyle so I let that go. What I liked about most and had me making it a four start rating was the story, it was darker than the story in Circle of Fire. It had child abuse and other dark elements that were done well. The murders were more gruesome and I liked the whole ‘revenge for killing me 18 years earlier bitch’

As a literary piece will it make the hallowed grounds of book awards, maybe not but it is a great read from an author I am liking very much. The reading is easy, the romance and love (if you like romance) is compelling and Ms Arthur can have you on the edge of your seat until the end. Again, if you like paranormal fantasy romantic fiction, this is the book for you.

Amazon Pre-Order: http://amzn.com/B00EX48UQ0
Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18007542-circle-of-death

Leave a Reply

