*Review* Thirty Two Going on Spinster (Spinster Series) – Becky Monson

17828963

Synopsis:

Julia Dorning is a spinster, or at least on the road to becoming one. She has no social life, hates her job, and lives in her parent’s basement with her cat, Charlie.

With the arrival of Jared Moody, the new hire at work, Julia’s mundane life is suddenly turned upside down. Her instant (and totally ridiculous) crush on the new guy causes Julia to finally make some long-overdue changes, in hopes to find a life that includes more than baking and hanging out with Charlie.

But when the biggest and most unexpected change comes, will the new and improved Julia be able to overcome it? Or will she go back to her spinster ways?

My Review: 4 out of 5 stars *****

Oh my, oh my. I have just finished wiping the tears of laughter from my eyes. This is seriously funny.

I know my blog is better known for my reviews, rave and opinions on all things Young Adult/Paranormal, Sci Fi and Dystopian, mainly. I also have a secret passion for funny Chick Lit. One of my favorite authors is Ms Sophie Kinsella, she is a master in this genre. So, because of Ms Kinsella’s wit and sharp characters I tend to be a little harsh on other authors who miss the mark. I downloaded this book last June, it was offered free on Amazon and I liked the premise.

I, because I wanted a break from plotting what weapons and supplies I’d need if I had to face a post apocalyptic future and picked this up. My one complaint is why I hadn’t done it sooner. I admit there are some flaws with it, mainly grammar, I also found out it has been re-edited for grammar and I possibly had an early edition. If you have an early edition, don’t let it put you off.

Julia was hilarious as our would be spinster. Though she could be a little whiny and mellow dramatic at times. Jared was delicious as the new HR assistant cum Julia’s wake up call. All in all it was great, albeit the very formula that Kinsella follows. Ditzy heroine with no man, a great and close friend, a slightly quirky, dysfunctional family and the man of the hour handsome, smooth and well turned out.

Was the story a little predictable? Yes it was. However, a true lover of Chick Lit will tell you the characters have to work, you have to believe in them all, and above all the laughs have to come. I didn’t just laugh out loud, I banged my hand on the sofa, repeatedly. I swear my face ached from laughing.

There was so many funny moments I couldn’t list them all, but the ‘mustache/herpes’ scene was a stand out. Dancing in the elevator and the red stapler were others. Julia was a hoot. There were some more serious moments, when Jared left the Dr Pepper for her in the bakery….tender and sweet. And Julia’s angst at the end at what she should do over her heart was a little nice surprise…..non of the usual falling into the man’s arms.

If you love good Chick Lit and you have a liking for Sophie Kinsella this is a must read…..I laughed till I cried then laughed again.

Leave a Reply

