*Review* Broken Symmetry – Dan Rix

bannerfans_9857711

Synopsis:

Sixteen-year-old Blaire Adams can walk through mirrors.

It’s called breaking symmetry. To her, a mirror feels like a film of honey. She can reach through it, grab things…even step inside.

On the other side she lives every teenager’s fantasy: a universe all her own, zero consequences. She can kiss the hot guy, break into La Jolla mansions, steal things…even kill. When finished, she just steps back into reality and smashes the mirror—and in an instant erases every stupid thing she did. Gone. It never happened.

But breaking symmetry is also dangerous. First there’s the drug-like rush she gets when passing through the glass, like a shot of adrenaline. She suspects it’s degrading her body, making a new copy of her each time. A reflection of a reflection, each one a little hazier. Then, of course, there’s the risk of getting cut off from reality.

When she narrowly escapes a military quarantine zone with the San Diego Police Department hot on her heels only to discover her escape mirror littering the floor in shards, her worst fear is realized. Now, trapped in a broken reflection, she must flee through a mind-bending maze of mirrors, going deeper into the nightmare as she struggles to grasp a betrayal, uncover the chilling truth about her ability, and somehow find a way out of a dead-end universe that “never happened.”

Somehow, she must find a way home.

Broken Symmetry

My Review: 3.5 Stars out of 5 *** Read 12/17/2013

I picked up this book when it was offered for free on Amazon, I was just looking to see what I might be able to promote when it caught my eye. I have to say I think the cover is very striking, though I’m not too sure if it fits the story. But it caught my eye so isn’t that the point?

I also liked the blurb and it had a lot of high starred reviews, so I was in. Now first of all my star rating for this is by no means a reflection (that wasn’t a pun, but it made me smile when I typed it) on it being a bad story.

I happened to like the story most of the time, but I wanted to like the story ALL of the time. What I struggled with is the explanation(s) of how, why and just who Blaire is. At times it was lengthy and confusing, now I know it is described as a science fiction thriller, but it also had YA in there so I wasn’t expecting to have a bachelors in DNA, chemistry and physics to have to understand it.

That aside it was an interesting take on alternate realities. Blaire, I liked, again most of the time. There were times she was annoying, like when she wouldn’t listen to the rules and got herself into a whole heap of trouble. Damian, I did like ALL of the time, snarky and sexy and so good at baiting Blair.

Charles, I knew he was up to no good!!!! I just knew it. What I liked most about this story was I never guessed the ending, I thought I had it sussed many times only to have the rug pulled from under me. There is twists and turns you don’t see coming, there’s a little bit of scary and a whole lot of nail biting. I will never look at a mirror in the same light again, yes I have tried to push my hand through the one in my bathroom….darn it.

If you like stories that explore alternate realities, can understand science jargon beyond a 5th grade level (I knew there was a reason I haven’t been on that show) you will like this book. There is a little bit of everything, intrigue, thriller, heartache, and even love.

Leave a Reply

