*Review* Stained (Stained # 1) – Ella James

bannerfans_9839625

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Julia is finally living the good life. She’s traded a hard cot in a Memphis orphanage for her very own room in a perfect little house, on a perfect little street, with a perfect set of parents who picked her to be their daughter.

But Julia is hiding a secret – and one fall night, she returns home from a friend’s house to find that her secret has found her. Her ‘forever home’ is ashes. Her parents are dead. And, in the sky above the flames, a winged creature hunts her.

The Nephilim King, Samyaza, has taken everything from Cayne. After struggling in the darkness for years to piece together his shattered life, Cayne is finally ready to confront his past and avenge the loss of everything he loved. He tracks Samyaza to a Memphis warehouse, where he winds up flat on his back, in the healing hands of a beautiful, dark-haired girl he doesn’t need to know.

Unbeknownst to either of them, they are already bound. Cayne’s past holds the answers to Julia’s future. But what will pose the greatest threat to her? The bounty placed on her head by the leaders of two Celestial realms, or giving her heart to a man who is bound, by birth, to break it?

Stained

My Review: 3 out of 5 Stars *** Read: 12/14/2013

I was so excited to read this book, I really was. By chance I saw it was offered free on Amazon and I liked the blurb. I also loved the cover and saw it had featured on a few of Amazon best seller lists. To add to that, when I went to down load it I was told I had previously bought it…The stars had aligned I thought for one fabulous read. (If you saw how many books I’ve stored on my kindle you’d understand how it got overlooked 🙂

So I settled in, snug in my reading perch with my M&M peanuts and waited to be transported to my new world. Only that didn’t happen, why didn’t that happen? What was happening?

Don’t get me wrong, the start was excellent. Poor orphaned Julia now had a new home, out of foster care she had new parents, new bedroom to call her home and friends. Friends she had snuck out to meet that night.

Only when she returns home her house is ablaze, her parents inside and some demonic winged creature overhead was making sure nothing got out. So she flees, she doesn’t want to go back to the orphan home, no way, no how.

She finds herself holed up in some empty warehouse, for 3 days she is all alone until suddenly the roof comes in and she is faced to faced with a very delicious looking boy. Cayne, and he is fighting the very demon that was over her house the night of the fire, and he wants to kill her….and Cayne.

Somehow they fight him off, Julia (who can read auras and heal things) has Cayne all fixed up and despite his prickly demeanor and obvious lack of enthusiasm to have Julia around, they come to an uneasy truce of finding the half demon Samyaza and killing him.

Now all this should’ve set me up nicely, but it didn’t. I can’t quite put my finger on what was irking me so much. I liked Julia in the main but she did become a little whiny at times. I liked Cayne mostly but the constant reference to what he was hiding was driving me a little nuts.

It also bothered me that they could get whatever they wanted, stay wherever they wanted & have the ability to buy food and clothes by the sheer power of Cayne’s mind control. It didn’t quite work for me. The story seemed jumbled, sometimes I wondered if I’d missed something because we were in places that were not consistent with the story. Then I would back track and work out we were in a dream of Julia’s.

Nathan’s character could’ve been better explained and I was confused a little too often. Overall the story was good, I love stories that feature Nephilim so that helped a lot but I was as confused at the end as I was at the beginning.

I will say however this book has excellent reviews and these are just my musings alone. Unfortunately for me, it will not be a series I will continue on with.

Leave a Reply

