*Blog Tour Review* Path Unchosen (Daughter of Ravenwood #1) – Kim Cleary

PathUnchosenTourBanner1

I have for you today another fabulous blog tour stop brought to you in conjunction with the wonderful Xpresso Book tours. I would like to share with you my musings on Path Unchosen (Daughter of Ravenwood #1) by Kim Clearly.

Path

Publication date: September 7th 2013
Genres: Dark Fantasy, New Adult, Paranormal, Urban Fantasy

Synopsis:

When eighteen-year-old Judy Hudson discovers she’s a necromancer and sees first-hand the pain her powers can cause the dead, she just wants to deny who she is. The zombie plague is long over. She wants to find a more normal life, but that’s a challenge when a beautiful otherworldly man, who claims to be her guardian, saves her life.

Judy tries to set right the harm she inflicted on a spirit she raised, but new zombies attack—zombies raised from among the long-time dead. Someone else just like her is out there, and he’s not trying to set anything right. To save her own life, and protect the innocent inhabitants of the nearby town who’ve become her friends, Judy has to figure out who’s raising the dead and why. She must also learn to control the darkness inside her—a seductive darkness that promises her power beyond her wildest dreams.

My Review 5 out of 5 Stars *****

When I signed up to participate in this review tour I did so because the cover seemed to call to me, I know I’m a little weird, but it did. The simple raven on the headstone is haunting. Also, I was looking for something that I don’t usually read, I was getting a little bogged down in the usual YA.

By the time I finished the story I was happy jiggy dancing around my living at picking such a fabulous story (one that also scared me a little) well enough for me to lock my doors when I was alone one evening, I holed myself up by the fire poker set ready and armed with my dogs should I be surprised by a stray zombie!! Told you I was weird.

In a nutshell, I loved this book. Judy was instantly like-able as the young girl, just turned 18 living at St Stephens and bringing dead things to life. What I liked most about her was despite being abandoned there early in life, and not knowing who she really is she wasn’t needy nor frail.

The story starts with her wondering why the nuns hadn’t found her a job when she had turned 18 and her meeting Boyce Westall, The mayor of Winterhurst. Something in her stirs when he gives her his business card and tells her to contact him. She realizes she has to leave the convent and with her friend Rose’s help she attempts to try to find out who she really is.

Their search uncovers a simple watch with the initials BG engraved on it and before Rose can implement her escape plan Judy is found laying inside a pentagram and so is promptly dumped out in a remote area in the freezing cold.

Enter the mysterious Purah, a man who rescues her. He knows who she is but won’t tell her anything until she is ready. This is where the story starts to open up, Judy discovers she is a necromancer. Someone who can commune with as well as raise the dead. Which she does one night, she raises Evie, but also another. A zombie, who is all set to attack her.

But did she raise him? Or was it another who wants something from her? The ride was riveting. From her growing attraction to Purah, to her stubborn determination to find out who she really is, while trying to solve the riddle of who is raising the zombies. Judy is feisty, strong and very capable.

She is not your Momma’s swooning heroine, waiting with bodice ripped for the hero to save the day. I also loved the fact Kim weaved a story that actually painted a necromancer in a good light, though there are some dark parts to Judy, if she lets them in.

The book had everything, magic, dragons, zombies, ghosts, imps and yes the possibility of a love triangle. It was well researched and put together with flair. The ending wasn’t what I was expecting, when you see a book with a hash tag number you know there are more to come, so when the fallout, heroine faces down the evil doer came down the result was a jaw dropper. I applaud Kim Cleary for that.

Kim is an author to watch for, I believe this is her first book. Excellent job and I can’t wait to find out what happens with Judy, Purah and Glynn. Can Evie be found and will Victoria get peace enough to leave. I also am looking forward to more adventures with Lyken and Aymon.

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18518528-path-unchosen?ac=1

Purchase:
–Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00F1X36SE

Rafflecopter Giveaway: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251285/

About the Author:

Kim writes urban fantasy for anyone who longs to discover they are extraordinary. She writes about hopefulness and determination, and about heroes who push through extraordinary situations and obstacles, one step at a time. Magical friends and gorgeous guys help, or hinder, in one adventure after another.

When not writing, revising, or thinking about writing, Kim gardens, plays with her dog, chats on social media, catches up with friends or cooks an Indian feast. She is a member of Writers Victoria, Romance Writers of Australia, The Alliance of Independent Authors, and a certified chocoholic.

Kim grew up in Birmingham, UK, studied medieval history and psychology at Adelaide University in South Australia and has worked all over Australia and in London. She now lives with her husband and an adorable Cocker Spaniel in Melbourne, Australia.

XpressoBannerTours

One thought on “*Blog Tour Review* Path Unchosen (Daughter of Ravenwood #1) – Kim Cleary

  1. Dude I read books because of the cover alone all the time without even reading the whole synopsis haha. I’m glad this one didn’t disappoint though bc the cover is creepy and I love the vibe it gives out. Judy sounds like an awesome protagonist and the mix of paranormal beings is awesome! I’ll have to give this one a try!

Leave a Reply

