*Blog Tour Review* Perverse – Larry Rodness

Perverse

Synopsis:

19 year old Emylene Stipe, a 2nd generation Goth, is shaken to the core when her make-believe world turns out to be real.

My Review 3 out of 5 Stars ***

I signed up for this tour because I was fascinated by the cover, it is very beautiful. I was also intrigued by the short synopsis. Some of the best books I’ve read have been because of those two reasons.

The story starts off strong enough, Larry has a great style that builds a vivid picture, as well as developing solid characters. Emylene was a very likable character and I loved her friendship with Nancy. However, when Emylene moved into her own apartment and began working in the fabric store I became confused. She seemed to transform into a surly teenager with no focus.

I liked Stelio, a much older Greek man who woos Emylene with a black rose and interesting conversation. Everything changed when Stelio notices a charcoal painting in a store window, he disappears and Emylene becomes frustrated.

Buying the painting is her undoing. One night she notices the picture is ‘alive’ and rescues the terrified Mira. Then everything gets weird & I became more confused as the story unfolded. Don’t get me wrong, I think Larry wrote a solid story with a different take on the whole vampire genre. It had interesting concepts and is definitely not your Momma’s Twilight.

I just was not expecting it to take the turns it did, and while the story didn’t gel with me it will certainly entertain lovers of anything vampire. What I liked about it was the integration of ancient fables. The vampires are never referred to as such but as Vrykolakas, I also liked the whole love story of Laszlo and Mira (it was a tragic indeed) but it just wasn’t for me.

If you are looking for something that’s a little different in Supernatural/Vampires I would give this book my recommendation.

3 thoughts on “*Blog Tour Review* Perverse – Larry Rodness

    • Thank you 🙂 I’ve been blogging since July this year, I visit a lot of other blogs to see what they are doing and try to change things up to make it stay current and fresh

Leave a Reply

