*Review* Shatter Me (Shatter Me # 1) – Tahereh Mafi

bannerfans_9708514

Synopsis:

“You can’t touch me,” I whisper.

I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him.

He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him.

But things happen when people touch me.

Strange things.

Bad things.

No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal, but The Reestablishment has plans for her. Plans to use her as a weapon.

But Juliette has plans of her own.

After a lifetime without freedom, she’s finally discovering a strength to fight back for the very first time—and to find a future with the one boy she thought she’d lost forever.

Shatter Me

My Review: 5 out of 5 Stars ***** Read 12/1/2013

Why, oh why don’t I listen to my daughter more often?! This is yet another book (series) she has been banging on at me to read and I’ve said I would but never did. So, because it’s been the holidays and I’ve been promising myself I would read those books I am not necessarily reading to blog review. I picked this one up.

OMG, OMG, OMG OMG I have no idea what the heck took me so long. This is a gem of a story and yes I loved it. It starts with Juliette, locked up, away from the world in isolation for 264 days. The beginning was bleaker than the Siberian wasteland on a winter’s day! She has a curse, one touch of her skin can kill a person, it already had.

She then gets a cell mate, a boy, a boy from her past. A boy she cannot forget, but he has forgotten her. Adam tries his hardest to get to know Juliette but she simply won’t let him.

Inexplicably she is released and told there are bigger plans for her, plans if she follows the rules she will live like the leader of the Reestablishment. Only she doesn’t quite know what or who to trust, the soldier entrusted with guarding her is non other than Adam.

She then meets Warner, the leader. He is power-hungry and crazier than a mad man on speed, and he wants Juliette to be his weapon. Juliette is determined to be anything but his puppet, that is until Warner hurts Adam, has her touching soldiers and saving innocent toddlers (told you he was crazy.

What I loved the most about this story was its uniqueness, a dystopian/paranormal romance. I liked the way Tahereh opened Juliette up from a frightened, broken 17 year old to being able to slowly trust Adam. To her quiet determination not to be manipulated.

I liked the twists and turns of Adam, a boy who didn’t appear to remember Juliette, to what he actually knew about her (new book boyfriend!) To Warner’s deep unmitigated manipulation that would slow Juliette down and make her question everything.

The unfolding love story between Adam and Juliette had me cheering, especially when she found out he could touch her and not be harmed. The adventure started when they decided to escape the clutches of Warner, there is one more shocker revealed before they get away.

But Warner is obsessed by Juliette even more than I am with M&M peanuts and you know he isn’t going to let them go without a fight. He isn’t going to let Adam just take off with her. There is double-crossing, lies and cover ups. Kenji….loved, loved, loved him. He definitely needs his own story. Smart ass and funny, a girl could get addicted.

Was he working for Warner, was he telling the truth of a safe place, was he after Juliette for himself. So many questions there were sparks coming off my finger tips trying to turn the page of the iPad!

Juliette grew from a timid, broken child to a no-nonsense heroine. Don’t get between her and her man, that’s all I’m saying. Could they out run Warner a second time? Could they trust Kenji? and could Adam survive long enough to live? It was an assault on my emotions, well written and edge of the seat…

Then we get to the world of Omega Point, a world where Juliette realizes she isn’t a freak but gifted. A world of X Men. It sets up the next book UnRavel Me perfectly, I can’t wait to read what Warner will do next, what exactly is Adam and will Kenji get himself a girl…..

Leave a Reply

