*Review* Allegiant (Divergent #3) – Veronica Roth

bannerfans_9687740 (1)

Synopsis (Goodreads Version):

The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered—fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence, she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties, and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again, Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature—and of herself—while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice, and love.

Told from a riveting dual perspective, Allegiant, by #1 New York Times best-selling author Veronica Roth, brings the Divergent series to a powerful conclusion while revealing the secrets of the dystopian world that has captivated millions of readers in Divergent and Insurgent

Allegiant

My Review 5 out of 5 Stars ***** Read 11/29/2013

May Contain Spoilers

So, I put off reading this book for as long as I could. I, like the world and his wife had waited (very impatiently) for the final installment of Tris and Four’s story. Then I read the reviews, i heard the shocking spoiler, I couldn’t run, I couldn’t hide. I couldn’t make sense of why an author would callously kill off her own beloved protagonist.

‘Just like that’ I heard. It couldn’t be true!! Why, why, why why? So I thought if I didn’t read it, it would never happen. Tris and Four would be happy farming their dystopian wasteland with at least 10 dysfunctioning babies.

Then I finally put on my big girl panties and decided it was time, time to face my fears without the aid of any serum and just bloody read it. Then I could also go on a Veronica bashing spree and be done with it. I could move on and forget an author had butchered and killed my hopes and dreams.

What I wasn’t prepared for was what I actually read. Tris, Christina and Cara are spared death for revealing the Edith Prior footage. Tobias (Four) knows he cannot stay with his mother Everlyn, she has gone nuts. Power hungry and ruling worse than it ever was in the factions. Jeanine Matthews is dead.

Caleb has been sentenced to death (and rightly so, is what I thought) One chance abduction and Tris is brought into the world of the Allegiant. Led by Tori and Johanna they plan to find a better way, one outside the city and one trying to overcome Everlyn’s new regime.

So the story is set. Trish will travel outside the city with Tobias, Christina, Cara, Uriah, Tori and Caleb the rest will stay and fight. What they find is more horrific than what is inside. They are plunged in a world of double-dealing, lies, back stabbing and more lies.

The compound isn’t all it seems and neither is the fringe. The enemy isn’t who they believe it to be, and their allies aren’t either. The story is slow to start with, building piece by piece but that is part of it brilliance. It is EXPLAINED, maybe a slow poke like me needs the slow blow-by-blow account of how the world got the way it was but I was fascinated by the perceptions of the GP’s (Genetically Pure) to GD’s (Genetically Damaged) to the people in the Fringe (I was expecting Mad Max to jump out on me)

What I loved most was Veronica didn’t spare us anything, it was an emotional roller coaster of a story, that while I knew (or I thought I did) what was coming, I knew it was the only story she could tell. Tris didn’t die because the author got sick of her, or because she knew she was ending the series. This is bloody war people, good people get hurt. Good people die.

If you want the happy ending pick up a Disney, better yet don’t pick it up. This is a Dystopian world where it is dog eat dog. Tris died because it was the only thing that in the end would save them. I have to admit though, reading Tobias after her death had me running to the bathroom to sob my heart out. To read the 2 very short chapters of when he first noticed her ripped my soul to shreds.

I’m still not over that, but it was beautifully done. In the end Tris saved him, and he began to live for her too. Beautiful, brave and haunting story. I won’t forget it in a hurry!!

Leave a Reply

