*Blog Tour Review* Death is but a Dream – Erin Hayes

DeathIsButADreamTourBanner

I’m so excited to tell you about this book today. This for me was like finding a hidden gem. You know you’ve all done it, you pick up a book with a pre-conceived idea of where it’s going to go, then BOOM it all gets turned on its head…

DeathisButADream

Death is but a Dream

Erin Hayes
Publication date: October, 2013
Genres: Adult, Fantasy, Mythology

Synopsis

Caught between life and death, all Callie wants is to live again.

Homicide detective Callie Saunders knows that death isn’t all pearly gates and angels. After being hit by a bus, she finds that it’s the ancient gods and goddesses of Greek mythology who are in charge of everything.

So when Hades offers her a deal, she accepts. If she wants to be brought back to life, she’ll have to figure out who is trying to kill his son. But if she fails, both her soul and the world will be destroyed.

With the odds mounting against her, it’ll take everything she has within her to wake up from death. But the rules are constantly changing. And someone wants her to stay dead.

My Review 5 out of 5 Stars*****

Okaies, I signed up for this blog tour liking the premises of this book. Well it had the words Greek Gods and Mythology in it, and I LOVE, LOVE LOVE all things Greek Gods. I also had an idea of where it might go too.

I was so wrong, this book is seriously great. It has grit, a feisty, yet very human heroine. A not so perfect leading man and plenty of twists, turns and wow, I didn’t see that coming moments.

It starts with Callista, (A tough, emotionless San Francisco detective) who really, really wants to be called Callie out for a walk. She sees a child in danger and she thoughtlessly throws herself in front of it to save them. In the process she dies, or does she?

She wakes in the bowels of the Underworld and is promptly taken to Hades, the king of the Underworld. There he explains she shouldn’t have interfered with the child and now if she is to get her life back she has to consent to protecting his son, whose life is in danger from an unknown assassin.

Knowing she has no other choice she accepts, begrudgingly. Enter Plutus, the son of Hades and everything you thought you knew about New Adult romances is turned on its head. Callie isn’t your typical waif like ‘I need a man to save me’ girl, nor is she drop dead gorgeous with a sea of glossy hair. Plutus is equally not your average hero either…. that I will not spoil for you. Suffice to say I was wonderfully shocked and sucked in.

Now while the story centers on the gods and goddesses of the Olympians and the Underworld this is actually a gritty detective story. There was a moment involving Cerberus that had me choked. It was down to earth and in no way silly in any of the scenes.

I loved Tisiphone, I kind of wish I had a friend like her, albeit not green though. So the story takes us along Callie’s investigation where she is hitting brick wall after brick wall, then she is granted a trip to see her father (that got me too) and the leads take her in another direction.

One that is very dangerous and totally shocking that will take her and Plutus into the mortal realm, where they are being hunted by unknown and dangerous assailants. The pace is fast, the action great and the twists and turns had my head spinning.

I can’t say enough about this book, I did box into yet another Greek mythology romp but by the end of it I was totally involved in this detective mystery. Weirdo’s aside it was brilliant. The writing style of Erin left me wanting more and the ending had me reeling. I like an author not afraid to kill of her characters, take a road less traveled and certainly bold enough not to write total mush at the end.

I am super in love with both Callie and Plutus, me rooting for them was palpable and real. I loved they were not perfect but altogether perfect for each other.

Amazing book that you won’t regret, especially if you like a Greek God or seven 🙂

XpressoBannerTours

3 thoughts on “*Blog Tour Review* Death is but a Dream – Erin Hayes

  1. I also love books with greek myth and the grek gods are all so interesting and you can do so much with a story involving them, too! Also on another note you should read Antigoddess by Kendare Blake! But I like how unique this one sounds with the addition of Hades’ children. Callie also sounds awesome!! Great review, Julie!

  2. I’ve been browsing online greater than three hours today,
    yet I never found any fascinating article like yours.
    It is lovely worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you did, the net shall be a
    lot more helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

