*Review* Under The Never Sky – Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky

Synopsis:

Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland—known as The Death Shop—are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild—a savage—and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile—everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

In her enthralling debut, Veronica Rossi sends readers on an unforgettable adventure set in a world brimming with harshness and beauty.

My Review: 5.5 Stars Out of 5 ***** Read 11/18/2013

I know, I know, I’ve given this more stars than my ratings. I can do that, it’s my blog. I’d give it 10 stars if I wanted to look a total fangirling nerd.

I don’t know where I’ve been! I must’ve been camping out in a remote cave, or worse lolling around in outer space

IMG_3544 (1)

Where ever it was my awesome daughter got it right once again. She has been nagging me forever to read this, and I’ve put her off because of other commitments to read. I should listen to her more often, she brought my attention to Twilight (before the bad acting), Hunger Games, Obsidian, Divergent, Mara Dyer long before they were all super main stream, and this was no different, thank goodness I finally listened!

So, where to start, this book is simply stupid brilliant (no that doesn’t mean it’s stupid, it means it’s better than bloody brilliant) I couldn’t put it down. I even made dinner while still reading it.

I’ll try not to gush too much while trying to keep this concise. Aria lives in Reverie, an underground world full of virtual realms. Perry lives outside, a world that is ravaged and gripped by vicious Aether storms. A savage.

One night changes everything, one decision by both seals their fate. Aria, along with her friends venture into the damaged part of the Pod on a bid for adventure. Only it was never going to be an adventure for Aria and her friend Paisley. Soren (the son of head consul Hess) and his two sidekicks had other ideas and he turns on Aria, attacking her violently.

Perry happens to also be in the Pod that night and comes to Aria’s aid and gets her out and back to safety. Before he leaves he snatches up her smarteye (her way into the realms) and leaves. The next day with only her and Soren surviving she is sent to be with her mother Lumina to another Pod called Bliss.

Only she was never going there, keen to keep her quiet Consul Hess has her dumped in the dangerous outside world, knowing she would die. By the same token he sends his men to retrieve the smarteye stolen by Perry, only that doesn’t go according to plan and they take his nephew Talon.

Aria and Perry are on a collision course, both not quite trusting each other, yet needing the other one to get back the life they have lost.

What I loved the most about this story was the slow, unfolding story of Aria and Perry. Their initial dislike of each other, to the wary trusting, to eventually something more. It allowed both of their stories to be told. Perry’s heartache over his parents, his dysfunctional relationship with his brother Vale to his bond with Talon.

Then there is Aria, who at first is weak and fragile. Needing to stay close to Perry for his protection, yet as time goes on there is something much more, much bigger to her than meets the eye. She is on bad ass, stubborn and inquisitive young woman.

The story had everything, the dystopian world created by Veronica was cruel and harsh and extremely barren. The threats from the Ether storms, the Cloven (Oh my, they are bad, bad, bad), the wolves and even Cinder is was a beautifully written story of love, forgiveness and overcoming inner demons and differences to come together as one.

I loved Perry and Aria, they are the new Brad and Angelina!! I loved Roar, oh how I’m looking forward to more of him. I even liked Cinder, who is dangerous to everyone he is around. Vale…well let’s just say I had no tears. Consul Hess, I hope he gets his…..soon. If, like me you haven’t picked up this book yet, buy it now. It is amazing. I’m now onto the 2nd….watch this space, or should I say Aether

aurora

Leave a Reply

