*Review* Daimon (Covenant 0.5) – Jennifer L. Armentrout

allgoodthings (1)

Daimon

Yeah, I’m doing a jiggy dance at being able to not only be on this awesome tour, but to also be part of the first day. Today is for book # 0.5 DAIMON

Minions

Tour Blogs Link: http://www.stuckinbooks.com/p/sentinel-by-jennifer-l-armentrout-tour.html

Synopsis

“Love in my world usually ended up with someone hearing ‘I smite thee ‘ as she was cursed to be some lame flower for the rest of her life.” For three years, Alexandria has lived among mortals–pretending to be like them and trying to forget the duty she’d been trained to fulfill as a child of a mortal and a demigod. At seventeen, she’s pretty much accepted that she’s a freak by mortal standards… and that she’ll never be prepared for that duty. According to her mother, that’s a good thing.But as every descendant of the gods knows, Fate has a way of rearing her ugly head. A horrifying attack forces Alex to flee Miami and try to find her way back to the very place her mother had warned her she should never return-the Covenant. Every step that brings her closer to safety is one more step toward death… because she’s being hunted by the very creatures she’d once trained to kill. The daimons have found her.

My Review 5 out of 5 Stars *****

Okay, so I signed up for this tour because I love all things Jennifer Armentrout but I’ve yet to read the Covenant Series (I know, have I been living under a rock or what?) I signed up for the first day so I could start at the very beginning. Though I was a little disappointed the book was only around 89 pages it was only 0.99 cents….so it was no biggy.

Well, WOW. That was the best 0.99 cents I’ve spent in a very long time. It might be short and sweet but it packs a punch heavier than Mohammed Ali could ever throw. Where to start and explain this? Alex is a half blood, her mother is a Hematoi, which is a pure blood and a child of a God and a Mortal. A Daimon is a pure blood that had turned their backs on the gods and they feed on aether, the life force that ran through both pure and half bloods.

Still with me? It gets better. Daimons could use elemental magic to conceal their true selves from mere mortals. Only pure and half bloods can see through it, and witness the full horror of their true appearance. Trust me, you don’t want to be out in a dark alley and meet one of these.

So,the story starts with Alex and her mother at the Covenant, Alex is being examined by the elderly Hermatoi minister for her suitability. I knew when I read this “’She’s nothing more than a pathetic, little half-blood’, the ancient women had continued. ‘I say send her to the Masters. I’m in need of a little girl to clean my toilets.’ Then she had twisted her fingers cruelly. And I had kicked her shin.” That I knew I was going to like Alex.

She is feisty and funny, yet a little self depreciating. After the first chapter we jump to what I presume is 3 years along, Alex and her mother are living in Florida outside of the Covenant. Her mother tells her she should remain free and never go back.

On a night out with her boyfriend Matt events spiral and Alex does something she shouldn’t. She fears they might have to take flight again, but that turns out not to be her worst problem. The next day all hell breaks loose. Jennifer has a style of writing that suckers you in, grips your heart, then wrenches it right out of your chest. I love it.

There is only one thing Alex can do, get herself to the nearest Covenant enclave and hope they take her back. The ride was thrilling, the need for speed optimum. I couldn’t breathe. If I was reading a book sparks would’ve been coming off my fingers the speed I was reading. The ending scene is intense and awesome.

Unofficial Teaser!

I'm not scared

For a short 0.5 book it was intense, fiery and full of thrills. You don’t want to miss this book. I’ve no doubt it sets up for Half Blood (which I now have in my possession). For 0.99 what are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

