*Author Interview* Rebecca Ethington – Through Glass

Oakies, I’m not going to lie. I feel like the kid on Christmas morning who gets the one gift they’ve been praying all year for.

dean fangirling

Yup,me ^, when I got confirmation I could have an interview with the wonderful Rebecca Ethington. Author of the amazing Imdalind Series and of course, our spotlight book today THROUGH GLASS

Thank you to Mark My Words Book publicity for make this possible.

Don't Eat The Food

ThroughGlass-BN-Kobo

Title: Through Glass

Author: Rebecca Ethington

Genre: New Adult Dystopian

Everyone remembered the day the sky went black. The day the sun was wiped from the sky. They remember the wind as it brought in the darkness; the way the earth shook and everything changed.
Everyone remembered the screams as the darkness ate those who were out in the open, those who had surrounded themselves by light, and those who made noise.
Everyone remembered the voice from the sky and the way food disappeared.
At least, that’s what I hoped. I hoped that there was an ‘everyone’ that would remember because I am not sure how many are left, how many survived. Or if anyone did.
I hoped that I wasn’t alone.
I remembered that day.
I remembered because it was the day I became alone.
It was the day that everything was perfect until the monsters took it away. Then the house went silent and the birds stopped singing. It was the day when everyone disappeared, everyone except the boy, the only person I have seen in two years.
The boy I talk to through the glass.

Interview with Rebecca

Me: I’m going to jump right in, Through Glass is so different to your Imdalind Series. Did you find it difficult to switch off from that to concentrate on this story?

Rebecca: I don’t normally go back and forth from stories. I have a tunnel vision brain, and prefer to work on one thing at a time. However, with Through Glass I needed an emotional break from Imdalind. Getting into the world of Glass was easy, going back to Imdalind was a little difficult, I wanted to live in Alexis’ world for just a little bit longer.

Me: Where do you get your inspiration from to write such edgy stories? I am dark and twisted inside?

Rebecca: Honestly, I have no clue. And I know, that answer is no fun – it would be so much cooler if I was raised by Zombie dog children, who turn into hunky men every new moon… but alas… that is not the case.

Me: You put Alexis and Cohen through hell and beyond. How do you relax when you’ve written such dark sadness?

Rebecca: I sleep – I know – I am so uncool. First no half naked zombie dog people, and now no super interesting character trait. I sleep. Dude, let’s pretend I am cooler than that. I really moonlight as a mediocre superhero, Vertigo Girl – I do everything with two feet planted firmly on the ground…

Me: You seem to always be promoting and writing. How do you juggle everything, work/family and remain sane?

Rebecca: I am not sure I do, to be honest. I have an amazing husband who helps me juggle everything, and an even more amazing publicist who helps me juggle everything AND the husband – and somehow it all works. I think the easiest thing is that I LOVE what I do, I lover interacting with my fans, and I love writing, so together it’s like perfect-perfect. I think that alone helps to balance the insanity, although I am sure I am still a touch crazy.

Me: How’s the Vlog going lol?

Rebecca: Oh, the Vlog. I don’t think I could blog if it wasn’t for the Vlog. I actually really enjoy it… hardest part? Not spilling the beans. I am going to have to start asking everyone I come in contact with sign a NDA – there are days I just can’t shut up.

Me: Okay, it’s killing me so I have to ask. Please, please, please tell me Cohen will be alright?

Rebecca: I wish I could tell you, really I do. But, my mind works in weird ways, what he is right now may be completely different when I go to write it.

Me: You had a bumpy release day with Through Glass, how frustrating was that?

Rebecca:I think I still have a bald patch on the back of my head somewhere…. I may have picked the worst release date in history. Luckily, we got there in the end, and the book has done so well, I really don’t have any complaints.

Me: How many Glass books are they going to be?

Rebecca: No clue. No really. I am not even sure what I am going to name them all. Sometimes that’s the biggest problem with my crazy brain. I know the story like the back of my hand, I close my eyes and live it every night But, I never know when my subconscious is going to throw me a curve ball, and change something on me. It has happened before. Right now I am thinking three – but we will have to see.

Me: I’m going to sneak this in and hope you don’t notice. Ilyan or Ryland, spill?

Rebecca: Oh dear – that is the question isn’t it? I don’t think I am going to spill that one yet, but I will tell you this: The final decision is made in Soul of Flame – and Chapter One doesn’t hold a candle to what the final verdict is.

Me: Alexis or Joclyn. If only one could save you. Which one would it be?

Rebecca: Well, I have got a super powerful, anger ruled magical being (Joclyn); and a bad-ass with a bed rail (Alexis). I guess it depends on what I am facing…

Thank you so much for the interview, but you know it only raises more questions. Arghhhhh, if you haven’t got your copy yet of Through Glass the buy links are below. Also I’ve re-posted my review. On a serious note Rebecca, I hope when you envision zombie dog children I hope this is your image…

Scary+shit.+zombie+dog_6bcda4_3060834

About Rebecca Ethington

64404_411149175642652_615474233_n

Rebecca Ethington has been telling stories since she was small. First, with writing crude scripts, and then in stage with years of theatrical performances. The Imdalind Series is her first stint into the world of literary writing. Rebecca is a mother to two, and wife to her best friend of 14 years. She was born and raised in the mountains of Salt Lake City, and hasn’t found the desire to leave yet. Her days are spent writing, running, and enjoying life with her amazing family.

*5 out of 5 Stars***** Read September 12th 2013. Available September 20th 2013

I don’t even know where to start, there is so much I want to say about this book, but it has yet to be released, so I’m going to try to stay away from any spoilers. This is what keeping in a fabulous story looks like:

Screaming_internally

Having been waiting so long for something new from Rebecca Ethington, I hungrily started this as soon as I got it. From the very first sentence I was hooked. Reading Rebecca’s work is like being wrapped in a comfort blanket by how well she can tell a story.

This story however had me on a monumental ride of twists, turns, despair, hope and love. It gave more shocks than a 2500 volt of electricity. The story centers on Alexis and Cohen, they grew up living next door to each other and were just about to allow themselves to open up more to each other.

Then the sky went black!

Trapped, alone in her home she has to find a way to survive the imminent death that can come for her if she breaks the rules. Her only sanity is the communication she has with Cohen, and that is through glass. Ahhhhh Cohen.

The story uniquely unfolds with a perfect blend of love (yes I said love), anxiety, sadness, hope and fear. I was gripped!! One simple action destroys everything and then holy Momma, everything I thought was going to happen DIDN’T! WOWZER, I was “Whaaaaat just happened?”

So we had a frozen pizza for dinner and I missed Big Brother (No joke, everything stops for Big Brother) Not this time. I couldn’t put this down, the ride will have you upside yourself with the twists, the plot is ever-changing into a much bigger story than you can ever imagine. I think I had 50 plus heart attacks.

What I loved the most about this book is the strong female character Alexis, she has all what you need in a heroine. She’s feisty, strong and even when she s broken she will not back down.

I'm not scared

This is an amazing book, it has everything you could need. Through Glass is a New Adult Dystopian novel with some sci-fi and the right amount of romance to leave you wanting more.

The ending!!!! Rebecca what have you done to me? The ending is so shockingly jaw dropping I have nothing, I wanted to go and lie down in a darkened room to process it all….but couldn’t. I have to stay in the light.

If you buy nothing else this year, this is one of my must reads. You will not be sorry.

1238084_10151657195197514_1658208124_n

2 thoughts on “*Author Interview* Rebecca Ethington – Through Glass

Leave a Reply

