*REVIEW* Kiss of Fire (Imdalind # 1) Rebbecca Ethington

kiss of Fire

Synopsis

Joclyn Despain has been marred by a brand on her skin. She doesn’t know why the mark appeared on her neck, but she doesn’t want anyone to see it, including her best friend Ryland, who knows everything else about her. The scar is the reason she hides herself behind baggy clothes, and won’t let the idea of kissing Ryland enter her mind, no matter how much she wants to.

The scar is the reason she is being hunted.

If only she knew that she was.

If only she had known that the cursed stone her estranged father sent for her 16th birthday would trigger a change in her. Now, she is being stalked by a tall blonde man, and is miraculously throwing her high school bully ten feet in the air.

Joclyn attempts to find some answers and the courage to follow her heart. When Ryland finds her scar; only he knows what it means, and who will kill her because of it.

Kiss of Fire is a Clean Young-Adult Paranormal Romance
Language: Low to None
Violence: Mild to Moderate
Sexual Content: Low to None

Kiss of Fire quote

* 5 our of 5 Stars* Read 7/18/2013 My Review

What can I say. I got this book when it was offered free on Amazon and let it sit in my kindle forever. I started reading it as a time filler then found I didn’t have enough time to read it!! (I read it in 2 days). I didn’t think I could fall in love with any characters as much as I had fallen in love with Jace Wayland and Clary Fray (TMI).

Well move over there is now Joclyn, Ryland, Wyn and Illyan in town. The book started off slow but it had my attention from the get go. I thought Ryland was a little too perfect, too rich, too handsome, too in love with Joclyn but boy was I taken on the ride of my life.

Basically the premise is Joclyn was bitten by something as a young girl by something unknown that put her in a 6 month coma and left her scarred. A scar she goes at great length to cover up. Her father left and so her mother works as a cook for Ryland’s super rich father. The story flows into their friendship (her love) of Ryland. He, against the determination of his father is hell-bent on being there for her, though I had an internal struggle why.

When she turns 16 she gets a letter and an odd stone from her father via her grandparents and that is when the book really unfolds. Something is after her, or so her father thinks. She thinks he’s nuts! Ryland also gives her a gift, a ruby necklace that he gets pissy about if she takes it off.

Add to that she has a stalker that only she can see, I wouldn’t mind if he looked like Illyan….come stalk me all you want and befriends the kookie Wyn. It’s only when her mother gives her permission to date Ryland after telling Joclyn to forget about him does the book really get momentum.

Ryland kisses her and sees the scar, then he touches it. He know what it is, what it represents…..Oh boy, oh boy, oh my. Nothing in the build up had me guessing just what happens next. Suffice to say (and I don’t do spoilers) you need to read this book.

There is a shocker revelation, a shocker death, another shocker of who is who, and what. Great twists & turns. I was holding my breath while panting at the same time. Not a pretty sight, I can assure you.

The build up was like that of a pressure cooker slowly simmering and when it exploded at the end I was left shocked and stunned and ready for more. Great read, great start and I want more. Rebecca is a great author, I’m so glad I discovered this series.

Leave a Reply

