*Author Interview* Jessica O’Gorek – Gemini Rising (Ethereal Fury) #1

I am excited and pleased to share with you my interview with Jessica O’Gorek, the author of Gemini Rising (Ethereal Fury) #1

17977415

Synopsis

BEWARE! THE PLANET IS WOUNDED… THE GEMINI ARE RISING AND OUR TIME ON EARTH IS LIMITED
Angry at the human race and its methodical destruction of her resources, Mother Earth recruits souls who have just left their bodies to serve Her, and turns them against humanity.
Gemini, a clan of paranormal beings, picked from these possessed humans, emerges. A powerful, rising force proceeds to carry out Mother Nature’s plan to systematically destroy towns, cities, states… and eventually, the world.
Amidst the chaos, a forbidden relationship between a human girl, Violette, and Onyx, a lead Gemini, begins. They will both find themselves in the middle of a revolutionary war that will either save, or destroy our world.

images

Interview

How did you come up with the idea for Gemini Rising (Ethereal Fury)?
My inspiration was Twilight and the Host but I also wanted to create something that would speak to the younger generation in a healthy way. I wanted to have romance but or the kind that takes over your soul and makes you feel like you’re nothing without each other. Violette and Onyx are crazily attracted to each other but they don’t reek of co-dependency like Edward and Bella. It was just after New Moon had been released and I started thinking about how could supersede vampires and werewolves and come up with an entirely different creature that was faster, stronger, sexier and who’s existence is more meaningful.

How many are planned for the series?
I am half way through book 4 and I see a possible book 5 and 6 in site.

Will all of your books have an environmental feel?
Yep, I’m gonna hit the message home. The whole series will center on ways we hurt the earth, how some of the damage is irreversible and our struggle to work through our karma and survive her wrath.

In Ethereal Fury, Mother Earth is very angry. To the point she is planning the destruction of humanity. Were you worried you might get some backlash from that?
No, and I haven’t so far. Why shouldn’t she be angry with us, right? Everyone who has read the series has really identified with her character and has been pleased with the original concept of her being mean and vengeful instead of soft and understanding like mothers are stereotyped to be. Can you tell I’m a bit of a feminist?

Your father was an author and you say he encouraged you to write. Were you ever worried over his critique?
No, he critiqued me in a gentle way that said, “Here is what I would say,” instead of “You should have done it this way!” He was an English, creative writing and lit teacher so he was very good at making suggestions without getting people’s hackles up. He was always to supportive and loving, even if my writing sucked when I was 12, he never would have told me.

What else do you have planned to release?
I need to finish this series before I think of anything else but I do have a few ideas stirring.

Ethereal Fury was a well-planned story with lots of reference to the church. How much research did you have to put in?
Believe it or not, I only put maybe a few solid hours of research regarding the church. The research that took me the longest was for the locations in West Virginia and when the Gemini start moving further West into Kentucky/Ohio, it gets a little complicated.

What books do you like to read?
I love YA. I am just finishing up the Mortal Instruments Series and I am looking forward to starting the Thirst Series.

562f3a18fb590ad8956ed4.L._V384238717_SX200_

Author Info:

8b07f0cb4cf20ad8976fd2.L._V384188741_SY470_
I was born in Chesapeake, Virginia on April 19th, 1979. I was raised within the American Indian religion and was taught great respect for the earth and all its living beings. Powwows, sweat lodges, vision quests, you name it, I’ve done it. I was the weird kid who would confront kids on the playground in elementary school when they squished a bug. I would very sincerely tell them what they were doing was morally wrong and then I would pray for the bug to come back as a butterfly in its next life.
I grew up admiring my father, Barry Weinstock, as an author. When I was twelve I started hand writing novels. My first one was two thousand pages. My daughter, who is thirteen, is currently working on her first novel. I hope to continue the legacy.

Leave a Reply

