*Review* Promise Me Light (Promise Me #2) – Paige Weaver

PML Web

Trailer: http://youtu.be/PkL9xddhWbM
(Just in case you missed it :))

*4 Stars out of 5****

My Review

Before I launch into my thoughts on this 2nd and final edition of Promise Me – Promise Me Light, I have to comment on the cover. I love, love, love it, it is so Ryder and the Clarity of his eyes. Amazing (the stubble…noms) Okay, I’ve got that out of my system lol
I was wonderfully surprised by Paige’s first book Promise Me Darkness that I eagerly prayed I would receive the ARC to Promise Me Light to review. I did, I did 🙂 I was given it in return for an honest review.
We picked up two weeks after Ryder, Gavin, Cash & Brody had left to try to rescue Eva, who was being held hostage by the terrorists. Maddie is beside herself with loneliness, fear and grief decides she cannot wait any longer for them to come home so she tries to leave….she doesn’t, Janice stalls her and then 3 figures on horses come into view.
They made it home, with Eva. That is they all made it home but the one person she needed….
What I loved about this book was it immediately came across as bleaker, darker and more desolate than the first. Which is what I was hoping for, after all when you’ve been taken over by terrorists and are living in the wasteland of a former life you’d hope it would get bleak and dark.
What I wasn’t expecting was the emotive roller coaster Paige took me on. Maddie’s grief, despair and anguish are palpable and her emotions catch you in the throat. Then she is elated, happy and uplifted only to be brought back to turmoil and hopelessness.
I’ve only got a couple of gripes about this story, I got in the first book that Ryder was all Maddie needed, that he was her best friend so I was a little put off every time we had a recap, or she was away from him it was re-iterated repeatedly. It didn’t kill anything, it just got a little repetitive.
In this outing we see a different Maddie and Ryder emerging, both ravaged and beaten by the war, yet resilient and hopeful (well Maddie is, I was worried about Ryder for a while *wink*)
Over all I really like this book, it was full of raw emotion, love and the power of believing you can get through anything, if you do it together.
It didn’t have a sugar-coated ending but it ended where it needed to be. Ms Weaver has a true gift, I cried at the end. I’ve tried to keep this review spoiler free so it doesn’t take anything from the story. If you haven’t read this series I would highly recommend it, you won’t be disappointed.

About the Author:

Paige Weaver

Paige Weaver lives in Texas with her husband and two children. Her love for books became a love for writing at a young age. She wrote her first book as a teenager and continued writing throughout the years. Encouraged by her husband, she finally decided to self-publish. Her debut novel, Promise Me Darkness, was released in April 2013 and quickly became a New York Times and USA Today bestseller. Her second book, Promise Me Light, will be released in September 2013. She is currently working on other novels to be released in 2014.

Author Links:

website http://www.authorpaigeweaver.blogspot.com/
twitter https://twitter.com/AuthorPWeaver
facebook https://www.facebook.com/AuthorPaigeWeaver
goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7034900.Paige_Weaver

Book Links:

Add to Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17862129-promise-me-light
Pre-order at Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Promise-Me-Light-ebook/dp/B00EAY9PDU/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1378498743&sr=8-1&keywords=Promise+Me+Light

PML-tour banner

Leave a Reply

