*Review* The Dream Thieves (Raven Boys #2) Maggie Stiefvater

cover31152-medium

4 out of 5 Stars ***** Read 8/30/2013 Released on September 17th 2013

I received a free ARC from the publisher for an honest review.
Where do I start? I read this right after I read The Raven Boys (Raven Boys 1), if you read my review on that one you’d know I was blown away by it.
The Dream Thieves picks up right where the previous one left off, Blue, Gansey, Ronan and Adam have opened the Ley Line & Cabeswater. This installment is much darker, grittier and at times painfully damaged (in a good way)
Ronan is haunted by his dreams, inside them he can bring things from the dream world into his reality. All seem harmless until he realizes he can bring the night terrors too. Adam is now unraveling, not quite knowing what is means to have been the sacrifice tp Cabeswater.
Gansey is still on his mission to find Glendower, the Welsh king he believes to be buried along the lay line & Blue, well Blue is trying to quell her growing feelings for Gansey while trying to keep it together with Adam, she still cannot kiss her true love, for then they will die.
There is a stranger in town, a deadly stranger looking for the Greywaren. He has demons of his own chasing him too. There is also someone else taking from the dream world, slowly killing it.
When the gang decides its time to go back to Cabeswater everything has changed and Adam and Ronan must work out what the changes within themselves mean before everything is destroyed.
This installment was a little harder to get into, it’s richly dark and extremely thought-provoking. I LOVED IT. Once it found it’s momentum it soared higher than Chainsaw could dream of. The flaws in each character, the broken, damaged & fragile natures each show are written better than any prose. My oh my, I think I stopped breathing several times reading this, I contemplated keeping oxygen near by just in case.
Maggie Stiefvater has created another winner, I’m hooked! If you’ve read Raven boys this is a must, if you haven’t got on it, this one releases September 17th 2013.
Holding breath (with oxygen) for the 3rd installment

Leave a Reply

